Need advice: move to LV for game development? (English only)

Gribi par to parunāt? Vienīgā vieta, kur drīkst runāt ne tikai par spēlēm
Amnvex

Need advice: move to LV for game development? (English only)

#1 Post by Amnvex » 19 Mar 2018, 23:25

Hi, people of GameDev forums.

I got a question that I need your advice on! Here's my deal: I am from LV originally, but stopped speaking the language around 10-11 when I moved away. This is why I rely on English (my 3rd language), and I still speak Russian quite well when I need to. I also know Chinese (intermediate), and about to learn another language (German?). Anyway, the thing is that I'm a student and am majoring in 2d/3d modelling. I should be done within a year and a half if all goes to plan. That leads me to wonder what to do after I finish, which is why I'm posting here to ask for advice. Considering I stopped using Latvian when I was young, I'd have to relearn quite a bit of it (which I'm about to try to do on my own). But I understand a lot of game studios (indie or not) may not require it. If that doesn't work, I could teach ESL (I'm a professionally certificated teacher, despite getting a degree in game design).

For the people who know game development in LV, how is the industry? Is it big enough to find a job in what I'm majoring in? For example, I could try applying to Dice in Sweden, or Guerrilla Games in Netherlands, or some other company somewhere else. That's why I'm wondering how viable it is for me to head back to LV. As a side note, my LV family doesn't care about me out of stupid reasons and refuse contact, which means I can only rely on myself to move back.

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance, and I'll be watching this topic for any replies.

Holybreath

Re: Need advice: move to LV for game development? (English o

#2 Post by Holybreath » 23 Mar 2018, 16:39